Ted Kaufman - United States Senator for Delaware

Sen. Kaufman Recognizes Arthur S. Flemming Award Recipients: Dr. Lynn Antonelli, Dr. Steven Brown, Dr. John Kitching, Dr. Dietrich Leibfried, Dr. Shyam Sharan, Dr. Eite Tiesinga, Angela Clowers, Dr. Marla Dowell, Kana Enomoto and Natalie Harrop

June 14, 2010

This week, the Trachtenberg School at the George Washington University announced the winners of the annual Arthur S. Flemming Awards. These distinguished awards for public service have been bestowed upon outstanding Federal employees for the past 61 years. The Flemming Awards recognize career Federal employees, both civilian and military, who have served between 3 and 15 years in government. Nominees come from across the many departments, agencies, and service branches. Notable winners include former Senators Elizabeth Dole and Daniel Patrick Moynihan, Defense Secretary Robert Gates, former Federal Reserve Chairman Paul Volcker, astronaut Neil Armstrong, among others.

The awards are named for Arthur S. Flemming, who had a long and exemplary career in public service which spanned from 1939 until his death in 1996. He served in a number of important roles, including Secretary of Health, Education, and Welfare under President Eisenhower.

Secretary Flemming also served on the U.S. Civil Service Commission under Presidents Roosevelt and Truman, the National Advisory Committee on the Peace Corps under Presidents Kennedy and Johnson, and as Chairman of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights under Presidents Nixon, Ford, Carter, and Reagan. President Clinton awarded him the Medal of Freedom in 1994.

It is fitting that these awards, which were originally bestowed by the DC Jaycees, are named for Flemming. His lifetime of dedication to public service continues to inspire so many.

The Flemming Awards are divided into three categories: applied science, engineering, and mathematics; basic science; and managerial or legal achievement. These categories highlight some of the most outstanding and exciting accomplishments by our public servants who are helping to lead the way in scientific discovery, efficient public management, and upholding justice.

This year's medals in applied science, engineering, and mathematics were won by a trio of brilliant individuals who are keeping America at the forefront of STEM research.

Dr. Lynn Antonelli is leading the way in developing laser-based sensors for the Navy. The sensors she and her team created have found commercial and medical applications, in addition to providing our Navy vessels with extended optics and sensing underwater.

Dr. Steven Brown of the National Institute of Standards and Technology--or NIST--also works with light. He and his team have made great strides in the field of light measurement that have enabled more detailed environmental imaging of the Earth. His work is revolutionizing the ability to detect minute changes in the environment as a result of climate change.

Also winning the applied science, engineering, and mathematics award is Dr. John Kitching. John has been leading the world's top research program in atomic measurement. He and his team developed ultra-miniature devices that can improve the accuracy of GPS, telecommunications, and medical imaging. They even have important national security uses, including in the more accurate detection of chemical toxins.

The three Federal employees who won this year's award for basic science are pioneers on the cutting edge of science research.

Dr. Dietrich Leibfried is one of NIST's leading experts on quantum computing. This exciting field could lead to supercomputers faster and more powerful than the best ones we have today. Dietrich Leibfried is responsible for many innovations in quantum computing, including the successful demonstration of a simple, fully programmable quantum computer, the first step in a long-term effort to build supercomputers that can handle nationally important applications, such as weather prediction, secure data encryption, and developing new drugs.

The basic science award is also going to Dr. Shyam Sharan of the National Cancer Institute at the National Institutes of Health. He has developed a simple and reliable way to analyze genetic mutations that increase a patient's chances of developing breast cancer. This will help doctors identify those who have the highest risk of cancer and treat them preventively.

Sharing the award with them is Dr. Eite Tiesinga, who works at NIST on ultra-cold atoms. By manipulating these atoms, scientists can carefully tune the quantum gases that might one day power quantum computers. Eite is frequently asked by researchers around the world to consult on their measurements and findings, and his work on ultra-cold atoms has put the United States ahead in the race to achieve successful quantum computing.

Four outstanding public employees were chosen for this year's managerial and legal achievement medal.

Angela Clowers works at the Government Accountability Office, and she led the GAO's efforts to audit transportation investments made under the Recovery Act. Her careful analysis and testimony before Congress prompted the Department of Transportation to refocus some of its investments in order to stimulate additional job growth. Angela also led the GAO's audit of government assistance to the American auto industry under TARP.

Another who won this award is Dr. Marla Dowell of NIST'S laboratory in Boulder, CO. Marla leads the world's most comprehensive research program in laser metrology. She won this award for outstanding management skills and for leading a team that is developing lasers for highly accurate measurement of manufacturing equipment. This will have profound and positive effects on both defense programs and high-tech businesses.

Kana Enomoto won the award for a distinguished career working on mental health access. She served as a leader in this area in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina through her work at the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. Kana also spearheaded efforts to improve the agency's operations, human resource management, and other critical functions as the Acting Deputy Administrator.

The fourth winner of this award is Natalie Harrop of the Air Force Global Logistics Center in Utah. Natalie distinguished herself as a lead budget analyst for the Air Force's 748th Supply Chain Management Group. She revolutionized the group's financial management, and her new system is being implemented across the 448th Supply Chain Management Wing. It is saving hundreds of work hours and over $5 million.

These 10 men and women are not an exception, they are exemplary. They represent the norm of excellence of our civil service. They have achieved great things and now join the ranks of those who share the Arthur S. Flemming Award for their great contribution to our Nation.

I hope my colleagues will join me in congratulating the winners of the 2009 Arthur S. Flemming Awards and thanking them all for their service. They are all truly great Federal employees.

Print this Page E-mail this Page